Friday, August 16, 2019

Who else isn't running for re-election? #twill

It seems we've had two significant political stories this week. One of which is certainly more immediate and important the other not so much.

Dorothy Brown is the circuit court clerk who attempted to run for mayor earlier this year and even participated in some candidate forums. Unfortunately she was knocked off the ballot due to petition challenges. Also it doesn't help when authorities have been looking at the activities of her office.

Regardless she won't be running for re-election next year. In the post at CapFax we not only see a story about her stepping down after 2020, we see a comment by a former challenger Jacob Meister. I wonder if he's running again...
I also wanted to share this exit interview from CBS 2 of Dorothy Brown [VIDEO]

Probably not as important and it hasn't so far been mention by Rich Miller who runs CapFax involves Jesse White. White has been our Secretary of State for over 20 years. The last two elections it was "teased" that he might retire only to run one more time.

Even though the next election for that office is in 2022, it's already being "teased" that he won't run again. Since it's relatively early to discuss election plans for 2022 and knowing that he may change his mind and run again - although he's in his 80s - I get the feeling that this report isn't being taken very seriously.

Although who knows, I'd like to know who'd be willing to take on that role after White's long tenure over among other parts of state gov't issuing our driver's licenses...

No comments:

Post a Comment

PLEASE READ FIRST!!!! Comment Moderating and Anonymous Comment Policy

While anonymous comments are not prohibited we do encourage you to help readers identify you so that other commenters may respond to you. Either read the moderating policy for how or leave an identifier (which could be a nickname for example) at the end of the comment.

Also note that this blog is NOT associated with any public or political officials including Alderman Roderick T. Sawyer!